Skip to content Skip to navigation

About me

Hi there, my name is Popeye, I’m an approximately 21 year old, friendly Welsh pony who is looking for a new forever home with my young friend Starling, another Welsh who is only 15. 

We are seeking a new forever home together as companions.

Since being introduced to each other last year we have formed quite a strong bond and wouldn’t like being separated now.  Of the two of us Starling is the more dominant, she certainly rules the roost! 

I  used to be a ridden pony, but I’m afraid I found it a bit stressful having little people on my back (wouldn’t you?), whereas Starling used to be a brood mare. We’re now enjoying the quiet pace of retirement.

While we do like people and enjoy regular grooming, neither of us is the most confident pony in the world, I in particular, can be nervous of new people and unfamiliar situations, so we’ll be looking for an experienced owner who will let us settle at our own pace and is willing to take the time to get to know us slowly.

We’re both in good health and have regular dental checks and visits from the farrier.

We know taking on two companion ponies is a big ask, but we’re hoping there is a special forever home out there with a patient and caring owner just for us.

 

Popeye & Starling

Gender:
Mixed Pair

Centre: Berkshire

Address:
NAWT Berkshire, Trindledown Farm, Wantage Road, Great Shefford, Berkshire, RG17 7DQ
Phone Number:
01488 638584
Opening Times:
1100 - 1600 every day (Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day) We regret that due to the coronavirus outbreak, NAWT centres will remain closed to visitors until further notice. However, we are able to recommence rehoming under strict guidelines which are based on the Government’s current social distancing and our sector’s infection control guidance. If you are interested in rehoming any of our animals, please contact the rehoming centre directly by phone or email.
Can’t rehome me? Support me or buy a present