Skip to content Skip to navigation

About me

Hi everyone! It's Jake here and I'm a 3 year old Lurcher on the lookout for my forever friends. I am a very goofy boy and, behind my shy exterior, is a big silly, soppy puppy who is always up for lots of fun. I am the perfect companion indoors; I love my cuddles and my toys and I know the difference between chill out and play time. During the day I can mostly be found snoozing away on a bed, pottering around the garden or having a play with my toys. I am a very playful boy and I love playing games with my favourite humans, playing chase with my favourite canines or taking my toys off to play solo. I love ripping the squeakers out of toys but also taking all of my teddies upstairs to bed for a cuddle. And, if you know us Lurchers, you'll know what I mean when I say I loooove zoomies!!

I am a shy boy who has some insecurities and can find some situations very worrying. It takes me a little longer than some dogs to learn to trust you but, once I know I can, boy will you have a best friend in me! I greet my friends with a happy, waggy tail and lean in for a big cuddle. I have come on really far and I take a lot of confidence from other dogs so in my new home I would love for there to be another doggy friend or two. I get so excited when I'm playing with another dog that I can get a bit boisterous so it would be great if the other dogs in the home were of a similar size and play style to me...and that they love to chase and be chased!! Hopefully they would be confident pooches so that they'll not only be a great playmate, but a great role model too. 

I enjoy going out on my walks but I do find some things worrying. For this reason, I am much better suited to walks in the countryside and rural areas than where it is busy with lots of things going on. But the great news is I am great in the car! So if you love donning a pair of wellies and finding country footpaths too, then I'm your guy. Sorry to say but I really do not like cats so I can't live with a feline friend. I also find children very worrying so I'm on the lookout for a patient adult only home. If you think I could be a great fit for you, then please get in touch with the humans here!

Jake

Breed:
Lurcher
Gender:
Male
Age:
1 - 4 years
Age of Children in Family:
16+
Other Dogs in Home:
Yes
Cats in Home:
No
Time Left Alone:
Up to 4 hours
Exercise Needed:
Medium
Size:
Large

Centre: Essex - Clacton

Address:
NAWT Clacton, The Street, Little Clacton, Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, CO16 9LG
Phone Number:
01255 860062
Opening Times:
7 days a week (except Christmas Day & Boxing Day). Dogs & Cats: 1100 - 1500 We regret that due to the coronavirus outbreak, NAWT centres will remain closed to visitors until further notice. However, we are able to recommence rehoming under strict guidelines which are based on the Government’s current social distancing and our sector’s infection control guidance. If you are interested in rehoming any of our animals, please contact the rehoming centre directly by phone or email.
Can’t rehome me? Support me or buy a present

Petplan Logo

All dogs taken in by the National Animal Welfare Trust are:                                                                                                                                                          

  • Medically checked by a vet and treated if necessary
  • Assessed by our experienced animal care team to understand the type of home they require for their own particular needs                                       
  • Vaccinated, microchipped, wormed and neutered
  • Given four free weeks of Petplan insurance
  • Given an individual training plan according to their needs