Skip to content Skip to navigation

About me

Hi everyone, my name's Archie, or Archie-huahua and I'm a 2 year old Chihuahua. My friends here tell me I'm a gorgeous little man with a massive personality, so don't worry, what I lack in size I make up for with my awesome character!

I'm looking for new owners who have experience owning nervous rescue dogs and heaps of love, patience and understanding. Unfortunately, I show signs of having had some harsh handling in the past, this means I'm extremely nervous around new people and can worry about being handled until I fully trust someone.

Any potential owner will need to be committed to doing a large number of visits with me here at the centre and understand the rehoming process could take quite a long time. The staff here would also do a large amount of visits to the home once I had that bond with my potential new owners, to make sure I am completely comfortable before I'm adopted.

This process is essential, as it's very important me and my new humans have time to form a strong bond and so that I'm relaxed enough for my real character to be seen. Please don't be fooled by my size and think I'd be happy being a lap dog as this really isn't the case, I love getting out and about for nice walks, not even rain or mud puts me off!

It's very important that my new owners are able to give me a structured routine, as a lack of this and not knowing my boundaries has contributed to me developing some guarding issues, the staff here will be happy to discuss this with anyone interested in giving me my loving forever home.

Once I have a bond with someone I'm very loving and loyal, and very comical according to my friends - I'm always putting a smile on their faces! I have lots of love to give to that special someone who can in return show me love and kindness and help me to continue growing in confidence in new situations and help me regain my trust in new people.

As I am so fearful around new people, I am looking for a quiet adult only home with minimal visitors. I could possibly live with a cat but my friends would need to check this with a home visit first. I get on with calm dogs when out and about but would prefer to be the only dog in the home.

Archie

Breed:
Chihuahua
Gender:
Male
Age:
1 - 4 years
Age of Children in Family:
Adult Only
Other Dogs in Home:
None
Cats in Home:
Possibly
Time Left Alone:
Up to 4 hours
Exercise Needed:
Medium
Size:
Small

Centre: Cornwall

Address:
NAWT Cornwall, Wheal Alfred Kennels, Wheal Alfred Road, Hayle, Cornwall, TR27 5JT
Phone Number:
01736 756005
Opening Times:
1100 - 1500 every day (closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day) WE ARE TEMPORARILY CLOSED DUE TO CORONAVIRUS.
Can’t rehome me? Support me or buy a present

Petplan Logo

All dogs taken in by the National Animal Welfare Trust are:                                                                                                                                                          

  • Medically checked by a vet and treated if necessary
  • Assessed by our experienced animal care team to understand the type of home they require for their own particular needs                                       
  • Vaccinated, microchipped, wormed and neutered
  • Given four free weeks of Petplan insurance
  • Given an individual training plan according to their needs